Your Dream, Our Mission - Your
Gateway to a Brighter Future
Your Dream, Our Mission - Your
Gateway to a Brighter Future

Immigrant Leaders Honored at 2013 Immigrant Journey Awards Luncheon

Latest News

Six DFW immigrant leaders and an immigrant service organization were recently honored at the 2013 Immigrant Journey Awards. Hosted by Badmus Law Firm, the goal of the awards is to celebrate immigrants and immigrant service organizations who are trailblazers and exceptional role models in North Texas. The honorees were hosted at a luncheon at the La Cima Club in Irving, Texas.

Adil Adi, president and CEO of Worldlink, Inc. and Walter Chiang, founder and director of CP&Y, Inc. received the Immigrant Entrepreneur Award which recognizes immigrant business owners who have founded highly successful businesses and who serve as models of inspiration. Elizabeth Hernandez Sosa, corporate accountant with Borden Dairy Company, Hector Molina, project superintendent of KPost Company, and Florencia Velasco Fortner, president and CEO of the Concilio each won the Immigrant Professional Excellence Award, recognizing immigrants who have demonstrated significant professional achievements in their field and whose advancements in their field have positively impacted their profession or community.

The Immigrant Spirit Award was presented to Peter Burns, chair of the Mindbender Academy foundation. The award recognizes an immigrant civil leader who has contributed substantially to the community. The Hua Hsing Chinese School located in Plano received the Immigrant Advocate Award for its leadership and advocacy on behalf of immigrants. The school was represented by its president, Agnes Mu.

“These awards celebrate those who have chosen to make this country their home and whose outstanding achievements serve as an inspiration to us all. Like our past honorees, this year’s recipients have achieved remarkable success and give back to the community as well, ”said the firm’s founder, Ann Massey Badmus.

Proceeds from the luncheon funded the American Dream Scholarship awarded to three top DFW-area immigrant high school students. Scholarship recipients for 2013 were Sukjoon Choi of Irving, Jesus Jaimes of Dallas, and Vana Bahram of McKinney. All are honor students at their respective schools.

Nominations for the 2014 Immigrant Journey Awards will open in September, 2013. For more information, visit

Related Articles